2 of 2 XLG 1982

Art Scores

In 1969 Christopher Lantz created and developed the concept of a non-linier, multi-leveled musical notation with the intention of offering a vaster access of expression to the musical language. 


The change in musical language was published in “Percussive Notes,” An Official Publication of the Percussive Arts Society, Research Edition Volume 23, Number 3, March 1985. The publication includes Christopher Lantz’s Art Score, “String Quartet” 1983, (36”x 60”) work shows Christopher Lantz’ process to combine music and art.


The Art Scores contain visual musical notations that have been played by various musicians throughout the world includes the composition for grand organ “Arrival on Planet Blue” (36”x 60”).

In 1985 the Taos Arts Council, Taos, New Mexico, commissioned a work “Symphony for One Dancer” performed in 1986.


During the 1980’s interest in Art Scores peaked:

Three day festival for the performance of “Art Score” Paintings, New York City, New York;

Solo Show – Cicchinelli Gallery, New York City, New York

Washington Square Gallery, New York City, New York

The Art Scores have been purchased as art paintings and also are performed as musical concert pieces.


Music Chronology


1955-1960                   Bard College B.A. Music


1960-1968                   Stanford University M.A., Doctor of Musical Arts, Ph.D.


1961                            Stanford Humanities Prize, Stanford University, California


1963                            Ojai Festival Student Composition Award, Ojai, California


1964                            Newberry Scholarship


1967                            Resident Composer, Marlboro Music Festival, Vermont


1960-1978                   Cofounder/associate director of The Society for the Performance of

                                    Contemporary Music.  Conducting and presenting concerts of American

                                    contemporary music, throughout the United States and Europe.


1955-Present               Composed over 100 chamber works

                                    Two cantatas

                                    Requiem for percussion

                                    Six symphonies

                                    One opera, “My End is Your Beginning”